Make your own free website on

Tarot Card Meanings

The Major Arcana

The 22 Major Arcana are the heart of the deck, each symbolizing a universal aspect of human experience - an archetype. Their subtle but effective symbolism draws out deep and complex reactions, as one would expect from the grand nature of the cards. Some people interpret the Major Arcana as the steps on a journey through life, holding the experiences and trials of an entire lifetime.
The Fool
The Magician The High Priestess The Empress The Emperor The Hierophant
The Lovers The Chariot Strength The Hermit Wheel of Fortune
Justice The Hanged Man Death Temperance The Devil
The Tower The Star The Moon The Sun Judgement
The World

The Wands Suit

Wands are the suit of Fire, representing energy, creativity, growth, glory, enterprise, inspiration and spirit. Wands build constructive energy for both practical and spiritual purposes. Their fiery energy adds passion to a given situation, resulting in new creations, ideas, and acceleration of events. They also results in competition, despite being a suit unrelated to the emotional extremes of hatred and love. Wands also represent transformation, a function of birth and death.

Ace of Wands Six of Wands Page of Wands
Two of Wands Seven of Wands Knight of Wands
Three of Wands Eight of Wands Queen of Wands
Four of Wands Nine of Wands King of Wands
Five of Wands Ten of Wands

The Cups Suit

Cups are the suit of Water, representing emotion, relationships, intuition, pleasure and love. Cups build energy through both emotional and spiritual fulfillment, as opposed to material gain. The element of Water adds peace and balance, flowing from the higher planes to the lower. It can be rough or calm, a shallow puddle or a bottomless ocean, depending on its environment. The variety of human emotions mimics this mutability, changing their state in reaction to circumstances. Hence the Cups suits is tied to the emotions.

Ace of Cups Six of Cups Page of Cups
Two of Cups Seven of Cups Knight of Cups
Three of Cups Eight of Cups Queen of Cups
Four of Cups Nine of Cups King of Cups
Five of Cups Ten of Cups

The Swords Suit

Swords are the suit of Air, representing the mind, the applications of logic and thought, authority and aggression. The energy of the Swords builds to increased wisdom and knowledge. The Swords are the most removed from the practicality of the Earth, since one can have thoughts with no basis in reality. Air is the most difficult element to quantify and describe, even though we are immersed in it and use it every day. It is still somewhat of a mystery, and while it bears the great challenges, it offers greater lessons.

Ace of Swords Six of Swords Page of Swords
Two of Swords Seven of Swords Knight of Swords
Three of Swords Eight of Swords Queen of Swords
Four of Swords Nine of Swords King of Swords
Five of Swords Ten of Swords

The Pentacles Suit

Pentacles are the suit of Earth, representing money, trade, material matters, security, fortune, physical well-being and caution. Pentacles build towards physical security, focusing on the material. Pentacles express themselves through the five senses; sight, hearing, touch, taste and smell. They are a suit of tangible results, actions and reactions. Their functioning is rather uncomplicated; slow, steady, and not greatly influenced by emotions.

Ace of Pentacles Six of Pentacles Page of Pentacles
Two of Pentacles Seven of Pentacles Knight of Pentacles
Three of Pentacles Eight of Pentacles Queen of Pentacles
Four of Pentacles Nine of Pentacles King of Pentacles
Five of Pentacles Ten of Pentacles

Back to main Tarot page